Feel good about your information and become a local news champion today

Platform Calgary, National Bank sign $380K pact for investor hub

Platform Calgary and National Bank of Canada have joined forces to help connect Calgary tech startups with potential investors.

National Bank is committing $380,000 over the next four years for the establishment of the National Bank Investor Hub. The company will also become a part of the Platform Pillar Team.

“Calgary continues to set records for venture capital attraction. By creating better linkages between Calgary based entrepreneurs and investors, Calgary’s innovation community will have another asset to accelerate Calgary’s position as a global tech hub,” said Terry Rock, president and CEO of Platform Calgary.

“National Bank’s investment in Calgary speaks to our emerging position as the best place in the world for anyone to start and grow a tech-focused business.”

The hub will be set up as a centralized access point for a wide spectrum of investors or investing groups to tap into Calgary’s growing tech and innovation scene, Platform Calgary said in a prepared release.

It will also include a physical location for startups to connect with potential investors earlier to build a personal relationship before the need for capital.

“National Bank has been supporting companies and investors successfully in the tech sector for over 25 years. This new partnership with Platform Calgary is in line with our commitment to enhancing the Bank’s presence in the tech industry and in Western Canada,” said Michael Denham, Executive Vice-President, Commercial and Private Banking at National Bank.

“Calgary has been solidifying its position as a crucial tech hub in Canada, and we are excited to be part of its dynamic ecosystem of ever-growing opportunities.”

The province said this would continue to accelerate momentum for Alberta-based tech companies.

“There has never been a better time to be in tech in Alberta than today,” said Nate Glubish, Minister of Technology and Innovation for the Government of Alberta.